Friday, July 23, 2021

Book Review: Then Came You by Rachel D. Russell and Susan May Warren

About the Book:

He’s in Deep Haven to relax.

Detective Daniel “Boone” Buckam is more than burned out. After fourteen stellar years on the job, one bad judgment call—and, fine, a whole lot of cynicism—has forced him into a mandatory vacation. If he can get his head on straight, there’s a job as Police Chief waiting for him back in his Minneapolis suburb.

But then he meets Vivien.

Actress Vivien Calhoun isn’t really a drama queen. Sure, she gets swept up in the emotions of life—but please, she’s an actress. Or, um, was until a stalker made her flee the bright lights of Broadway. Now, she’s passionate about directing her local theater production. But when she accidentally ropes an uptight police detective on vacation into her cast, she can’t help but wonder if he might be the leading man she’s always longed for.

Of course, she’s in trouble.

Boone can’t help but like Vivien. He might even have a type—vivacious and bubbly, with a penchant for attracting danger. He can smell trouble even if she can’t, and is pretty sure her stalker has hunted her all the way to Deep Haven. He’ll have to stay by her side—even if it means being in her silly play—to keep her safe. But Vivien is more than he expected as she helps him discover a part of him he’s locked away…the part that said he could never love again.

So much for relaxing.

It’s summertime in Deep Haven, and the fun is heating up in this laugh-out-loud, charming story.

My Thoughts:

I enjoyed reading Then Came You by Rachel D. Russell and Susan May Warren. The authors combined a sparky romance, a stalker threat, and occasional moments of intense action to create a story that held my attention throughout. While I struggled a bit to connect with Vivien, Boone’s loyalty and protectiveness made him a great male lead. They each had obstacles to overcome and life-altering choices to make. A satisfying ending capped off the book and left me smiling.

Then Came You by Rachel D. Russell and Susan May Warren stands as the fourth novel in the Deep Haven Collection. Although the story has a large cast of characters, some of which I recognized from previous novels, Then Came You works well as a stand-alone read. I think it would be fun to go back and binge read all the novels featuring Deep Haven as the setting never fails to charm me. I look forward to reading the next installment in this series. Four stars.


Disclosure of Material Connection: I was provided a copy of this book by the author or publisher. All opinions in this review are my own.

No comments:

Post a Comment